Based on research, @wearesunnyuk has discovered that the average Brit spends £69…


Based on research, @wearesunnyuk has discovered that the average Brit spends £695.76 each year on dining out I’ve mentioned several times that we order in on Friday, and while I haven’t kept track of how much we spend in a year, I won’t be surprised if it is way more than the average. When you’re ordering for a family of 4, it becomes expensive very quickly. In 2019, I plan to be more frugal with money. Rather than ordering in every week, I will start DIYing some of our favourites.

The amazing thing about DIYing is that you can put a spin on your favourite recipes and make them even more nutritious. It is no secret that restaurants are primarily concerned with taste, so food is almost always high fat, high salt and high sugar. The bottom line is that it tastes good.

I’ve put a spin on orange chicken and made this super simple sticky lemon tempeh with steamed broccoli and pak choi. To cook the lemon tempeh, you need:

200g tempeh, chopped into large cubes
65ml vegetable broth or water
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon light soy sauce
1 ½ tablespoon Shaoxing rice wine
1 tablespoon finely chopped garlic
1 teaspoon cornflour mixed with 1 teaspoon water
Pinch of sugar
½ teaspoon sesame oil (optional, but adds wonderful flavour)

Put the tempeh into a large non-stick frying over medium heat, brown on both sides then set aside. You can also fry in oil if you prefer. –
Combine vegetable broth (or water), lemon juice, soy sauce, rice wine, garlic and sugar in a medium saucepan. Bring to the boil over medium heat then add the cornflour mixture and sesame oil, if using. Simmer for one minute then add the tempeh back into the pan. Stir well to coat then take the pan off the heat. Serve over steamed rice and garnish with spring onions and toasted sesame seeds.

You can replace tempeh with tofu and serve the sauce with noodles instead of rice. This meal costs only £2.00 per portion 😊. #DIYDineOut #wearesunnyuk #ad



Source

Bette

My name is Bette. I'm a 34 year old female from Turkey. My occupation is a website designer and I work from a home office. I have struggled with my weight since puberty. Still figuring out.

You may also like...